British/Commonwealth Armoured Division


Tank Establishment for an Armoured Division was:

HQ Armd Div 3 Light Cruisers
5 Heavy Cruisers
8 Tanks
HQ Armd Bde 6 Light Cruisers
4 Heavy Cruisers
20 Tanks
Light Armd Regt (3) 36 Light Tanks
22 Light Cruisers
174 Tanks
Heavy Armd Regt (3) 26 Light Cruisers
8 C.S. Cruisers
15 Heavy Cruisers
147 Tanks
  Total: 349 Tanks

On 25 May 1939 the Army Council decided that an Armoured Division was to consist of a light armoured brigade and a heavy armoured brigade, each to consist of 3 regiments of tanks. In addition, 1 unarmoured Support Group was to be formed consisting of artillery, engineers and infantry.

Return to EVOLUTIONS page

Site Map

Steel Chariots
Title Page
Updates Commander's
Armour Profiles Armoured
The Fort Garry
Evolution of
Armd Formations
Death of a
Panthers Demise
For Valour Ram Badger Armour Graphics Churchills at
Formation Patches
Photo Credits Le Mesnil-Patry Gallantry Awards Battle of Keppeln Links

Chris Johnson, 1997