Home    History index   Units

Return to Artillery of World War 1

4th NZFA (Howitzer) Brigade

Formed 1915 with three howitzer batteries. Maj (Temp. LtCol) NS Falla, DSO, was the commander when the Brigade left the training area in the Middle East for the war in France.

When the Division was reorganised in 1916, the Howitzer Brigade was split up with one howitzer battery transferred to each of the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Brigades. At the same time, the 4th Brigade was reconstituted from the 8th, 10th and 14th Batteries as three 18-pounder batteries.

Lasted until early 1917.