Boston College. Color slides copyright Prof. Jeffery Howe.  email:  [email protected]

Table of Contents | Quick Index:| 17th century | 18th century | 19th century | 20th century | Architecture links | Fine Arts department home page

Participate in an Interactive Poll -- cast your vote for the best building in America
click here to see the current results
click here to vote (note: this poll is not scientific, just for fun)
1885 -- Poll conducted by the American Architect & Building News:
  1. H.H. Richardson: Trinity Church, Boston, 1872-77.
  2. Various architects: The U.S. Capitol, Washington, D.C.
  3. Richard Morris Hunt: Vanderbilt House, New York City,
  4. Richard Upjohn: Trinity Church, New York City, 1846.
  5. Frederick Withers & Calvert Vaux: the Jefferson Market Courthouse, New York City, 1875-77.
  6. Richard Upjohn: Connecticut State Capitol, Hartford, 1873-79.
  7. H.H. Richardson: City Hall, Albany, New York, 1880-83.
  8. H.H. Richardson: Sever Hall, Harvard University, 1878-80.
  9. H.H. Richardson: New York State Capitol, Albany, (Richardson was one of four architects), 1875-86.
  10. H.H. Richardson: Town Hall, North Easton, MA, 1879-1881.
1986 -- Poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects:
  1. Frank Lloyd Wright: Fallingwater, Bear Run, PA, 1936.
  2. Ludwig Mies van der Rohe: Seagram Building, New York City, 1954-58. (with Philip Johnson)
  3. Eero Saarinen: Dulles Airport, Washington, D.C., 1962.
  4. Thomas Jefferson: University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, 1817-1826.
  5. Frank Lloyd Wright: Robie House, Chicago, 1909.
  6. H.H. Richardson: Trinity Church, Boston, 1872-1877.
  7. I.M. Pei & Partners: East Wing, National Gallery, Washington D.C., 1976.
  8. Various architects: Rockefeller Center, New York City, 1930-1940.
  9. Frank Lloyd Wright: Johnson Wax Building, Racine Wisconsin, 1936.
  10. Thomas Jefferson: Monticello, Charlottesville, VA, 1770-74; 1796-1809.

Choose a category:

of this site 

Other Architecture
Web Links

Fine Arts Department
Home Page

Boston College
Jeffery Howe: 1996, 1997, 1998. (email: [email protected])